• Also in this section
  • News

Rugby Kent 7's

This week the school has taken part in the Kent 7’s festivals (Years 8 + 9). There are three tiers of Rugby in Kent and the school takes part in the second tier of competition level in Kent, alongside the likes of Dover GR, Harvey Gr, Dane Court Gr, Barton Court Gr, and is verging on the edge of the next level which is heavily dominated by the Tonbridge Schools and Private sector.

The Year 9’s festival took place on Tuesday at Dartford Grammar School, and the boys unfortunately lost in the Semi Finals 24-21 to the eventual winners Kings School Rochester (who had actually dropped down from the upper tier this year). The boys unfortunately suffered from private school fear and did not attack in the first few minutes, and gifted kings 3 tries before half time. However a strong rally in the second half saw us draw back, and if we had just had an extra 30 seconds I am confident that the boys would have overturned the deficit.


1          Kevin Rai

2          Anthony Conybear

3          Tom Askey-Brown

4          Luka Makhalfa

5          Louis Stival

6          Dan Hatton

7          Spike Purdie

8          Thomas Harvey

9          Riley Oliver

10        Samuel Harvey

11        Rupak Sampang

12        Harry Bellamy

The Year 8’s festival took place on Thursday at Sir Joseph Williams Mathematical School, and the boys dominated their group and won the overall competition defeating St Dunstan’s in the final 21-14. Again after having dominated every side they had played the boys again froze in the first few minutes and gave St Dunstan’s too much respect and conceded two early tries. However they showed incredible resilience to come back, as they had not been put in this position all day, and the match turned into our speed and strength against the technical skills of St Dunstan’s. However I am delighted to say the boys came through, and now have the chance to take on the ‘big boys’ next year in the main competition.

1          Damien May

2          Rylan Carter

3          Jack Ludden

4          Max Behrens

5          Louis Manktelow

6          Mark Wilmer

7          Owen Kinghorn

8          Rylan Carter

9          Fred Smith

10        George Meakin

11        Callum Bailey

12        Dominic Lucas

 - Mr G.Benwell

View Images